The Listening Project- week ending March 27

Tess Said So I Did That Tomorrow 2014 Preserved Sound

As I’ve said before the great thing about social media (in this case Twitter), is that it can introduce you to so many interesting artists. In this case I started following the duo Tess Said So on Twitter a few months ago- before I had heard any of their music simply because they had a really interesting account. I’ve finally gotten around to actually listening to them because they posted a video (which is awesome and you should go watch it!). I’m so glad I got around to listening to their album, because now I can’t wait for their next one to come out

(NZ) Mike Nock and Frank Gibson Open Door 1985/2005 Ode Records

I seem to be on a piano/percussion kick . This duo comprises of two of New Zealand’s finest jazz musicians (even if Nock has lived most of his adult life in Australia). While this album has been out for over a decade, I somehow never got around to listening to it- the only excuse is that I was living in the US when it came out so it sort of passed me by. However, now I’ve heard it, and while I always knew it would be great I’m glad to have my ears confirm it

(NZ/Int) Mark DeClive-Lowe Church (Remixed) 2015 Ropeadope

Another NZ jazz musician pianist/DJ/producer Mark DeClive-Lowe was one of the young lions of the NZ jazz scene in the 1990s. His musical journeys  have have taken him in a variety of directions, but jazz/electronica is one constant in his music making.

Sufjan Stevens Carrie and Lowell 2015 Asthmatic Kitty Records

I like the instrumental lines and the timbre of his voice, but, for me I think this is one artist that can only be enjoyed in small doses- the themes of his songs are a bit on the depressing side for my taste. I would like to hear an album of straight up instrumentals though…

Kamasi Washington The Epic 2015 Brainfeeder

Kamasi Washington’s debut solo album The Epic, is well and truly that- a masterwork of, well, epic proportions. It’s a great album, but the thought I had while listening it was, how does a musician follow that up other than go in a totally different direction? While that’s a viable option, even Miles Davis would build on a particular style for a couple (or more) albums. With The Epic I get the feeling that this is the pinnacle of what Washington was trying to do- which is cool, but it makes his job of a follow up album that much harder.

Leave a Reply

