The Listening Project -week ending 24 January

(NZ) Gareth Farr Gareth Farr Shadow of the Hawk 2005 Morrison Music Trust

spotify:album:11aji5fljImDrIQBuat8LR

One of my favourite modern New Zealand composers and this album has some of my favourite pieces by him.

Shakey Graves And the War Came 2015 Dualtone Music

spotify:album:4h7bT8XpWfGKGFSgYkT9It

I first heard the Shakey Graves on a yoga video on Youtube of all places, so I’ve wanted to check them out for about a year now.

The Eagles Live 1980 Elektra/Asylum Records

spotify:album:04ZCu8OHFUgbf9Ko0bOSZ2

This week- how could I not?

The Velvet Underground The Velvet Underground and Nico 45th Anniversary 1967/2012 Universal

spotify:album:6MqUvJry4Z87cCWebJmzcu

Confession time- I’ve never listened to The Velvet Underground before. I know- they’re hugely influential on so many musicians, but I’ve just never gotten around to it. I’m not sure what I think of them, I may need to listen to several more albums before I decide anything about them. It’s not love at first listen on this one

(NZ) Carolina Moon Mother Tongue- Songs from the medieval heart of Judeo Spain 2011 Ode Records

spotify:album:0ek482enHL21DVwCw0t6Mm

A beautiful melancholy album by New Zealand singer Carolina Moon. While she is best know as a jazz singer she also explores many different facets of singing from different areas of the world and different periods of history. This is a collection of Jewish music from Spain composed between 1100 and 1492 performed by a group of improvising musicians on contemporary instruments. This is not a Historically Informed Performance- nor is it meant to be- but rather bringing these beautiful songs into the modern light.

http://www.moonmusik.com

http://carolinamoon.bandcamp.com/album/mother-tongue

(NZ) Dave Dobbyn Footrot Flats A Dog’s Tale- the Soundtrack 2005 (remastered) Magpie Productions

spotify:album:717EvjvG0CxXf8FfexLsdo

This is a classic New Zealand animated film from the 1980s based on the cartoons by Murray Ball- every kid of my generation grew up with it- and part of the reason it has endured is this sound track. ‘Slice of Heaven’ was playing on the radio in the car earlier and it made me all nostalgic- it’s a perfect summer’s day track, and so very typically Kiwi.

 

Leave a Reply

